Prompts #2 – Worlds Colliding

Every day, The Daily Post posts a prompt on their website – a situation or little idea you can use as inspiration to write. Today’s prompt is worlds colliding, and this is my interpretation.

Skyfall is where we start
A thousand miles and poles apart
Where worlds collide and days are dark

The first that came to my mind when I saw “worlds colliding” were these lines from Adele’s Skyfall. Which has nothing to do with The Daily Posts’ explanation of worlds colliding, which is why I didn’t include that explanation in this post.

Close enough to start a war
All that I have is on the floor
God only knows what we’re fighting for

The second thing I thought of were some more lines from a song by Adele, Turning Tables this time. I don’t know what triggered this sudden gathering of songs by Adele in my head. Perhaps it was because Skyfall was on the radio this afternoon, when I was painting my room. Perhaps it was all the news on the radio about the thousands and thousands of Syrian refugees stranded in Europe, which was the third thing I thought of. I guess the two songs and the Syrian refugees all come nicely (or rather, not so nicely…) together in the words “worlds colliding”.

I have to admit, I don’t really know why all these Syrian people are leaving there own country. I mean, I know about IS and the war and everything, but why now? Why suddenly so many people? Perhaps I should start watching the news more often…

The psychological cause of a war
I remember that when I was about nine years old, we got an assignment at school that had something to do with the Second World War and Anne Frank. Everyone had to write down something about war that they thought was important. Why do you think people fight, what would you do about it, things like that. I don’t remember the exact words, but it was something like this: “I think religious people fight eachother because they are afraid that if they don’t, they’ll lose their religion.”

I still think that is true. Maybe not exactly as I put it as a nine-year-old child, but the essence, the simple fact that people are always afraid to lose their religion, because then they will lose their framework from which they can interpret the world around them. And if you lose that framework, you will have to look at the world, and more importantly at yourself, more carefully that you might like and than you might be capable of, to make your own framework. That is why almost every religion tells its subjects other religions have it wrong and they have it right. So the subjects won’t have to think about what other possible ways there are to see the world, about what other possible ways there are to see themselves.
So rather than sitting and waiting for the world to change, which inherently means existing religions disappear and new ones appear, the radical and therefore most afraid people of every religion choose to fight in an attempt to keep the world as they know it, to leave everything as it was. In the name of God, ofcourse.

Worlds Colliding
These fights are basically a collision of worlds. The new versus the old. One belief versus another. The world as you know it versus the unknown.

As are the Syrian refugees. They flee their homeland, flee from the war, but take with them their vision of the world. They take with them their ideas of this new world they are now seeing for the first time, their ideas of what it will be like in the rich, tolerant Europe. And when they finally arrive here, far away from home but also from the fights, all these ideas, hopes, ideals collide with the often hard reality.
And this goes the other way around, too, ofcourse. We have certain expectations of these people, these refugees who have just survived floating miles and miles on a leak boat across an ocean. We expect them to be sad and cold and wet and tired and happy to be away from the war. We expect them to be grateful for every little bit of aid they get but we forget how these people also have expectations of this wonderful new world they don’t know. Another collision of worlds.

I don’t know how to solve the problems Europe faces with all the refugees needing aid. I don’t know how to solve this war between IS and, well, the rest of the world. I only know humans will never stop fighting eachother, because there will always be someone who doesn’t want the world to change.

So, that’s quite an essay… What do you think? Am I somewhat right, or completely wrong? Let me know! And please note that it is not my intention to insult anyone or any religion, I am simply putting to words what I think about this century-long issue of people fighting eachother. Also, this opinion is nothing you can pin me down with, because I may learn new things in the future that may change my view. Just saying, just in case.

Be in peace, my lovely readers.

Yours sincerely,
Raevyn

One thought on “Prompts #2 – Worlds Colliding

  1. lifelessons says:

    I think that little nine-year-old was a wonderful philosopher who grew up and maintained that philosophizing bent. What you think and imagine is very true in my estimation. The fact is that no matter how grateful someone is for our help, they still cannot change who they are and to allow someone to enter our world only if they adopt our beliefs and practices completely is not very realistic. The world changes and changes mainly because of these cultural migrations, but these changes, as you have stated, also create a threat and the prospect of more wars. This is the yin and yang of the world and what causes its movement. It is unfortunate to those of us who wish for a constant peace that is really impossible, I fear. Acceptance, love and education are the only possible solutions, but there is always some selfish and greedy power monger who stands in the way of the betterment of all. I describe some of this in my post today, as well. Here it is: http://judydykstrabrown.com/2015/09/10/leaves-in-a-dry-wind/

    Like

Leave a Reply

