Prompts #3 – Handwritten

Every day, The Daily Post posts a prompt on their website – a situation or little idea you can use as inspiration to write. Today’s prompt is handwritten, and this is my interpretation.

Handwritten
When was the last time you wrote something by hand? What was it?

If you want me to be precise, the last time I wrote something by hand was yesterday evening, when I wrote down a few things in my agenda that I needed to remember. If you want me to take the word ‘write’ more poetically, the last time I wrote something was two weeks ago, when I wrote a letter to a friend I hadn’t seen in a very, very long time. (To be honest, I haven’t had the courage yet to actually send the letter, but still. I wrote it.) If you want to know the last time I wrote a LOT, that was when I made my final exams, May this year.

By hand or by computer?
I am often thinking whether I want to write something by hand or on a computer. In fact, I often spend more time thinking about that, and if by hand, in which notebook, and if on pc, in which font, than I actually spend writing. The problem that causes these inner discussions is that on one side I prefer the feeling of actually writing, but I prefer the speed of a computer. Usually, I end up writing by hand because I like to do that more than I like to type.

So yeah, I’m not one of those people who haven’t touched a pen since the moment they got their first computer or smartphone. I’m also not one of the oldfashioned paper-and-penpeople, I use my computer too much for that. I guess I belong in the third category, those who dwell in between the first to. I prefer writing by hand, but typing is often faster and sometimes much easier.

And what do you like? What do you prefer? When was the last time you wrote something by hand? Let me know!

Love,
Raevyn

Leave a Reply

