Prompts #4 – Daily Ritual

Every day, The Daily Post posts a prompt on their website – a situation or little idea you can use as inspiration to write. Yesterday’s prompt was daily ritual, and this is my interpretation.

Daily Ritual
Think about your day. Select one of your daily rituals and explain it to us: why do you do what you do? How did you come to adopt this ritual? What happens on days when you can’t perform it?

The irony of this daily prompt is that yesterday, I broke one of my daily rituals. Since about a week now, I’ve been blogging daily and yesterday was the first day I didn’t.  And of course, yesterdays prompt was ‘daily ritual’… The reason I didn’t blog yesterday was that I simply haven’t had the time. In the morning I painted my bedroom door and in the afternoon I was busy doing other stuff. And anyway, if I had had the time earlier in the day, there wouldn’t have been a prompt to write about. The Daily Post uploads a new prompt every morning. Morning, in the US. Which means they are online everyday at 3 pm in the Netherlands. Which is not very useful.

Another ritual
Anyway. Since you, as readers of my blog, already know about my blogging, I picked another one to tell you about. There were quite a few to pick from: I get up every morning, I eat three meals a day, I brush my teeth before I go to bed, I watch tv. The one I picked eventually is a little more active and, to be fair, I don’t do it everyday. It is however a lot more interesting to read about than how I brush my teeth.

Every evening, before I put on my pyjamas I try to do a few exercises. I found them via a Dutch running-blog, Annemerel.com. Annemerel filmed a video of the few exercises she does, that don’t take up a lot of time but do make the muscles stronger that you need when you run often. And since I run a few times a week, I figured it’d be good for me to do a little extra training.

Bad feeling
When I don’t do these exersizes, I feel kind of bad about myself. I am quite a lazy person, but when I give in to that lazyness it usually doesn’t make me feel good, like I said in my post about The Young and the Rested.

What is your daily ritual? Do you have many standard, very normal rituals? And do you have one (or more) weird rituals? Let me know!

Love,
Raevyn

If you are interested, you can find the exersizes here. The video is in Dutch, though.

Leave a Reply

