Prompts #5 – Favourite Song

Today’s blog is based on a prompt, as are most daily blogs of mine, but today I turned to Reddit for a prompt, beause I didn’t like The Daily Post’s one. Today’s prompt is Favourite Song and this is mine.

Favourite Song
Write a story based on your favourite song. Other people have to guess which song it is.

the king

I pull up my knees up to my chest and lean against the wooden door. It is still dark out, and as long as it is dark, I am safe.
I am good with dark. Always have been. I pull it around me like a jacket, and everytime I put it on it fits better, becomes more and more a part of me and less and less something I can just take off and leave behind. If I would ever want to.

Darkness does not always mean evil such as light does not always equate good.
My affection with dark has brought me much good in life. I swept the streets clean of criminals and chased those I couldn’t catch untill they crossed the boundaries. I made the people happy. I know it was me that made them happy, because they never looked happy when I wasn’t around.

Darkness does not always mean evil such as light does not always equate good.
Unless it does, ofcourse.
I didn’t make the people happy anymore. I know that because of what the murderer said when I went to watch his beheading. He said: “This head will be yours anytime now. And you still don’t see it.” I didn’t know it then, but I know it now. The exectutions and the storms and the drums and me. They didn’t love it anymore.

I pull my knees tighter to my chest and lean heavier to the wooden door. As long as it is dark, I am safe.

It is getting light.

This story was based on a song that I heard first about five years ago, and I have loved it ever since. I don’t know why, but I just love the sound of the music, and I like the feeling of the lyrics. If you have guessed or clicked the link below, do you agree with me, do you like this song too? And do you like this story? Let me know!

Love,
Raevyn

P.S. If you want to know on which song this story was based, click here.

Leave a Reply

