Prompts #7 – From the Top

Every day, The Daily Post posts a prompt on their website – a situation or little idea you can use as inspiration to write. Yesterday’s prompt was from the top, and this is my interpretation.

From the Top
If you had the chance to be reborn, would you choose to return as your present self, or would opt for a fresh start? Tell us about what motivates your choice.

If I had the chance to be reborn, I would choose to be reborn as a different person. I hope I live a long life, so I don’t feel the need to live again as the same person. It’s not that I am unhappy with who I am now, but why would I want to be the same person twice? Wouldn’t that be boring?

Born again
Let’s assume people have a soul that leaves the body at death and is reborn in another person. In every life you learn valuable lessons, making the next life easier on that aspect, giving the soul room to devolop other parts, resulting in the end in some sort of enlightenment.

If you look at it from that angle, I think it would be useless and maybe even unhealthy to live twice as the same person. Although we are assuming here we all have an immortal soul that is born several times in different body’s, with different personalities, the human mind is not made to live two lifetimes. Things already go wrong when we start living past eighty, with mental illnesses as dementia. Imagine what would happen when the same mind, the same person, would live two lives? Would that person be able to cope, or would they just go mad?

I guess there are a few people around this world, so very calm and balanced in this world they could easily live for 300 years if their bodies would let them. But the average human being is not one of those people.

Immortal soul
I don’t think I really believe in the concept of an immortal soul, being born again and again. Ofcourse, it explains a lot of the ‘we just started talking like we had been friens for years’ and ‘it just feels like he has such an old soul’ situations. But I am just not convinced.

I would like it though. Recently, I have been reading the Deverry-cycle (no spoilers, haven’t reached the end yet) by Katharine Kerr. In the cycle the concept of an immortal soul is worked out very deep and extensively, and my view of immortal souls is mostly based on that explaination. If it would be like in the books, I would be very, very interested in finding out about my past lives, seeing what influence they have on who I am now, finding out how I can be the best person I possibly can.

I hope this made any sence. It is kind of late here and I’m quite tired but I really wanted to leave you a post since I didn’t upload one yesterday (had a great day with a friend) or monday. So, have fun, let me know what you think, and if you love the Deverry-cycle as much as I do, please let me know! It would be great to have someone to fangirl about the books with. (Is fangirling even a word? A friend and I use it when we are acting like those fans you see on tv that are screeming in the que to the 1-Direction concert or something.)

Anyway. Have a nice eavening. Or midday. Or morning. Where ever you may be on this planet. Have a nice something.

Sorry, I get like this when I’m tired. I ramble. I promiss I will stop now.

Love (and thanks for you patience),
Raevyn

Leave a Reply

