Prompts #10 – Life’s a Candy Store

Every day, The Daily Post posts a prompt on their website – a situation or little idea you can use as inspiration to write. Yesterday’s prompt was life’s a candy store, and this is my interpretation.

Life’s a Candy Store
You get to be a 6-year-old kid again for one day and one day only — plan your perfect 24 hours. Where do you go, what do you do, and with whom?

Eighteen
Right now I am eighteen years old and before I start answering this question, I just want to make clear that generally, I wouldn’t want to be any younger than I am now. Every day I get older, I realize more and more of what is happening around me, and of what is happening inside me. Especially that last one is very important to me, a treat not many people have in the way I do, and every time I see something changing inside me, I feel more complete. I wouldn’t want to be younger. I just want to live now.

If I Were Six
All that aside, I don’t really know what I would do if I were six years old for a day. I would do something with my best friend from that time, I think. Later on we grew apart but back in the day we were very, very good friends. I remember summer afternoons when we finished school on wednesday at 12.15, and we went to my house to eat toasted sandwiches with cheese and then we’d watch a television show called ‘De Wereld van K3’ (The World of K3). It featured a group of three female Flemish singers (K3) and almost every girl (and, although they would never admit it, also a lot of boys) was a fan. They sat in a studio and chatted and there’d be a few intermezzo’s with other characters from children’s tv-shows, like Piet Piraat (Pirate Piet).

I can’t really remember what they talked about, or what else happened on the show, but I do remember we used to love it and watch it with great pleasure together. I can’t really remember anything that we used to do when we were young, except for parts from games that seemed perfectly logical at the time but are very, very strange to look at now. I guess we played in the garden, or on the streets if it was possible. I guess we played with dolls and pluche animals and balls.

I guess the only thing I’d really love to have back for a day is the innocence, the knowledge that no matter what happens, your parents will sort it out for you and you will be safe. No fright of the future, no what-uni-am-I-going-to troubles, no god-life-is-expensive troubles. Being young was being safe for me.

What would you love to get back from being young? And what was your favourite time as a child? Let me know!

Love,
Raevyn

Leave a Reply

