Prompts #11 – Lazy Learners

Every day, The Daily Post posts a prompt on their website – a situation or little idea you can use as inspiration to write. Yesterday’s prompt was lazy learners, and this is my interpretation.

Lazy Learners
Is there something you’ve always wanted to learn but haven’t gotten around to? What is it and what’s stopping you from mastering the skill?

There are many things in life that I wish I could do, that I want to learn. I want to be able to run faster, further. I want to learn a foreign language. I want to learn how to read the tarot.

Run
What’s stopping me with the first thing is the amount of time it takes and the effort you have to put in it. And my body. To run faster, to run further, you have to practice two or three times a week, going a little faster on the one day, and a little further on the other day. I have too many other things to do to run three times a week faithfully. And like I said, my body doesn’t always agree with me. Apparently, when it comes to running, my body is a slow learner. If I use a standard beginners’ training schedule, I can’t keep up anymore after three or four weeks. Which is quite frustrating.

A foreign language
In the first three years of middle school, we learned five foreign languages: three years English, three years French, two years German, three years Latin, two years Ancient-Greek. After those three years we had to pick one (English was mandatory) to study the next three years. Because I did Gymnasium, my choice was between Latin and Greek and I chose Latin.
I’ve doubted for a very long time if I would do French as an extra, but I decided not to because I wanted to do something else instead. In the end I was happy for that because the schedules for people with Latin and French (two in my class) sucked. Hours at the same time, that kind of thing.
What’s stopping me now, in my gap year, from learning a foreign language is that I want to learn one that really speaks to me, and I haven’t found that yet. I would learn Sindarin, one of Tolkiens’ elven-languages, if it was spoken in the real world. But after six years of Latin (which I enjoyed, by the way) I want someting that is useful today. So I wait for the language to appear on my path that will blow me off my feet.

Tarot
I have always been interested in the spiritual, and tarot has intruiged me for the last two years or so. What is keeping me from learning is that I currently do not own a deck that really speaks to me. Just like with the languages, when you think about it. I have however ordered a deck that I really really love and when that arrives, I hope I can hurl myself into exploring all the possibilities those amazing cards offer.

What have you always wanted to learn? And have you learned it? Let me know!

Love,
Raevyn

Leave a Reply

